Revision makes the writer nuts

Now: -6C

So I figured out what pushes me through revision, after revision, after revision . . . . My eagerness to get on to the next story impatiently waiting to be told.  I notice some writers have several things going at once–a couple of novels, a few short stories.  I’m not sure how they do it.  I can’t.  One thing at a time, please.  Divide loyalties does not a healthy manuscript make.  I’m loopy enough as it is, I don’t need to push myself over the edge, thank you very much.

Revision on romance novel goes well, better than I expected, especially since I have figured out the end.  But it’s a romance, you say.  Piece of cake.  They live happily ever after.  Not so fast, I say.  There  is happily ever after–who gives a fig?  Not a good happily ever after, that one. Must do better . . .  so I revise some more until I get to HAPPILY EVER AFTER.  I’m getting there . . . .

One thought on “Revision makes the writer nuts

  1. Hello, Heidi! I saw your link on Hatrack. I’m one of those people who works on several projects at once. I drive myself more crazy when I try to focus on one project at a time. Maybe I take myself too seriously given an opportunity, or maybe I’m a different type of loopy.

    Good luck on the romance novel.

Leave a Reply

